© 2019 by Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame

NUTT, JR., HOUSTON - Coaching

NUTT, JR., HOUSTON – Coaching – University of Arkansas – Fayetteville – 1976-1977 & Oklahoma State University – 1979-1981: Houston lettered one year in basketball and two years in football at the UA, then transferred to Oklahoma State, where he lettered two years in basketball and two years in football. After graduation, he became the head coach at Murray State, compiling a 31-16 record. In 1995, his Murray State team finished 11-1 and won an OVC Championship with an 8-0 conference mark. Nutt received the OVC Coach of the Year honor and was recognized with the Eddie Robinson National Division I-AA Coach of the Year Award. Nutt repeated his success for the 1996 season with an 11-2 record and another undefeated OVC conference record. Nutt received OVC Coach of the Year honors and regional Coach of the Year honors. His next stop was at Boise State, compiling a 5-6 record. In 199, the University of Arkansas offered him his 3rd head coaching position, and Houston compiled a 75-48 record with the Razorbacks. The Razorbacks were picked to finish last in the SEC West in 1998, ending up with a 9-3 record and a share of the title. After a loss in the Citrus Bowl they ended the season ranked #16. Nutt was selected as the Football News National Coach of the Year. In 1999, Nutt’s Razorbacks were picked to win the SEC West, but suffered a series of setbacks. They recovered to defeat nationally ranked Tennessee and Ole Miss to earn a bid to the Cotton Bowl Classic vs. arch-rival Texas. They defeated Texas 27-6, propelling them into the Top 20 to end the season. He coached teams to the SEC West championship games in 2002 and 2006 and took teams to 5 different post-season bowls. Nutt was selected SEC Coach of the year in 2001 & 2006. Nutt then left Arkansas for Ole Miss (2008-2011), compiling a 24-26 record at Ole Miss before his current retirement from coaching. He currently works for CBS Sports as a college football sports analyst.

  • YouTube

View the Rest of the 2019 Inductee Class