Scholarship Form


The mission of the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame (ASHOF) is to (a) honor and preserve the history of individuals who have brought honor, prestige, and fame to the state of Arkansas through outstanding achievement, accomplishments, and contributions in amateur and professional sports and (b) encourage and promote higher education through the funding of scholarships to deserving student-athletes. 


The ASHOF awards nine $1,000 scholarships to deserving Arkansas student-athlete high school seniors.  The winners of these scholarships will be presented at the ASHOF’s annual Induction Banquet, which will be held next year on April 9, 2021, at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock Arkansas.


These scholarships will be based on written essays and will be awarded to 5 male and 4 female student-athletes who will be enrolling in Arkansas colleges in the fall of 2021.  The ratio of male/female recipients will be alternated each year.  All scholarship funds will be awarded directly to the Arkansas college that each student will be attending.  A distinguished panel of ASHOF Board members, some of whom are also ASHOF inductees, will screen and review all essays submitted, and all winners will be notified by February 1, 2021.  All decisions of the ASHOF will be final.



  1. Must be a graduating senior from an Arkansas high school (AAA member) for the school year 2020-2021.

  2. Must be attending an Arkansas college or junior college (private or public) as a freshman the following fall 2021.  Students attending out of state colleges are not eligible.

  3. Must submit an essay to the ASHOF for evaluation.  The essay should state how sports has positively impacted your life.  This essay must be submitted online by December 31, 2020.  All submissions after this date will not be considered.

  4. THE ESSAY SHOULD BE NO LONGER THAN THE FRONT OF ONE STANDARD TYPEWRITTEN PAGE, SINGLE-SPACED.  Essays longer than one page will NOT be accepted.  Quality over quantity.

  5. Only the first 100 essays submitted to the ASHOF will be considered for review for the scholarships.

Upload File
Upload supported file (Max 15MB)

The application process for this year is closed because we have received 100 essays.

2020 ASHOF Scholarship winners

Jerry Jones – Corrin Bowen – Fayetteville – University of Arkansas

Jim Lindsey – Grace Carmack – Bryant – University of Arkansas

Rush Harding III – Grace Fuell – Alma – University of Central Arkansas

Wally Hall – Sophie Kleppe – Mountain Home – Arkansas Tech University

Sheffield Nelson – Sarah McCammon – Searcy – Arkansas State University

Steve Strange, Sr. – Andrew Chamberlain – Rogers – University of Arkansas

Nancy Williams – Will Cherry – Marion – Univeristy of Arkansas

Anita Cabe – Suazell Farmer – West Helena – University of Central Arkansas

Sharon Heflin – Jackson Sorey – Sheridan – Arkansas Tech University


2020 ASHOF/NFF Scholarship Winner:

Jake Meaders – Bryant – University of Central Arkansas

Drew Dozier

2019 ASHOF $1,000 Scholarship Winners

Jerry Jones Scholarship – Drew Dozier – Waldron

Jim Lindsey Scholarship – J’Malachi Kinnard – Warren

Rushing Harding Scholarship – Tanner Shelton – Alma

Wally Hall Scholarship – Austin Shipman – Jonesboro

Sheffield Nelson – Zane Cox – Lockesburg

Steve Strange, Sr. Scholarship – Mary Claire Briggs – Little Rock

Nancy Williams Scholarship – Hilyn Elizabeth Vardeman – Russellville

Anita Cabe Scholarship – Makayla Anderson – Acorn

Sharon Heflin – Ashton Patrick – Hot Springs

2019 ASHOF National Football Foundation Scholarship Winner - Latavion Scott - Bryant

© 2020 by Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame